[ISN] RSA Seeks Nominees for Awards & $10K Honors

From: mea culpa (jerichoat_private)
Date: Fri Nov 06 1998 - 06:41:40 PST

  • Next message: mea culpa: "[ISN] Caterpillar LAN hack: A lesson in security"

    Forwarded From: Vin McLellan <vinat_private>
    	RSA Data Security <http:www.rsa.com> invites industry and
    political activists, netizens, and scholars to nominate individuals who
    should be honored for their "outstanding contributions" to the field of
    	RSADSI annually awards three US$10,000 prizes to innovators and
    leaders in the fields of Mathematics, Public Policy, and Industry. The
    final selection is by a panel of academic and industry experts, but the
    nomination process is open to all. Nominations for the 1999 Awards can be
    made directly at <http://www.rsa.com/rsaawards/> anytime before 12/4/98. 
    	"The RSA Award in Mathematics recognizes innovation and ongoing
    contributions to the field of cryptography.  The Committee seeks to reward
    nominees who are pioneers in their field, and whose work has applied
    value." Nominees should be affiliated with universities or research labs. 
    	The 1998 winner of the RSA Math Award was Dr. Shafrira Goldwasser,
    who was also named to the RSA Professorship at MIT last year. Prof. 
    Goldwasser's pioneering work in number theory, complexity, and
    cryptography has also won MIT's Grace Murray Hopper Award and the first
    Godel Prize. 
    	Congressman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) -- primary sponsor of HR 696, the
    Security and Freedom Thru Encryption (SAFE) Act -- was the 1998 winner of
    the RSA Public Policy Award. This prize seeks to honor elected or
    appointed officials, or activists associated with public interest groups,
    who have made a "significant contribution" to the American policy debate
    about cryptography over the previous calendar year. 
    	The RSA Award for Industry seeks to honor individuals or
    organizations which have made outstanding contributions in commercial
    applications of crypto -- "particularly those that provide clear value to
    the end users" -- and demonstrated "ongoing innovation in their technology
    and products." 
    	The 1998 winner was Netscape, source of SSL and a steady steam of
    clever innovations for the denizens of the web. Taher ElGamal accepted for
    	The three winners for 1999 will be announced at the 1999 RSA Data
    Security Conference, which (having outgrown Nob Hill, to the regret of
    many) is being held in San Jose, January 17-21. See: 
    Subscribe: mail majordomoat_private with "subscribe isn".
    Today's ISN Sponsor: Repent Security Incorporated [www.repsec.com]

    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b30 : Fri Apr 13 2001 - 13:10:20 PDT