[ISN] CFP: Fourth ACM Workshop on Role-based Access Control

From: mea culpa (jerichoat_private)
Date: Wed Feb 03 1999 - 11:48:48 PST

  • Next message: mea culpa: "[ISN] Terrorists attack by hackers hits firms"

    Forwarded From: jaegertat_private
    Date: Oct. 28-29, 1999
    Place: George Mason University
    url: www.list.gmu.edu/rbac
    Sponsored By: ACM Sigsac
    Hosted By: George Mason University
    The essence of Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) is that permissions are
    assigned to roles rather than to individual users.  Users acquire these
    permissions by virtue of being authorized to act in these roles.  The
    driving motivation for RBAC is to simplify security policy administration
    while facilitating the definition of flexible, customized policies.  Basic
    RBAC models have been successfully applied since the mainframe era, but
    emerging systems, which have greater numbers of users, roles, and systems,
    challenge the expressive power of these traditional models. 
    Workshop Scope:
    The ACM workshops on RBAC bring together researchers, developers, and
    practitioners to discuss the application of RBAC to both traditional and
    emerging systems and the development of new access control paradigms for
    future applications.  The workshop invites participation from the
    database, network, distributed systems, operating systems, security and
    application communities.  Contributions reporting experiences with the
    implementation and use of RBAC systems are strongly encouraged. 
    Attendance is limited to 40 participants to foster a workshop atmosphere. 
    Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:
    - Modeling and specification of RBAC systems
    - Administration of RBAC systems
    - RBAC in database security
    - Specification and enforcement of security policy
    - Delegation and inheritance of access rights in RBAC systems
    - Task-based access control and RBAC in collaborative environments
    - Application Areas e.g., health-care, WWW
    - Support for RBAC in traditional access control systems
    - RBAC and organizational control principles
    - Experiences with RBAC-based systems; case studies
    - Enabling technologies: Java, LDAP, intra-net environments
    - Implementation, integration and scalability of RBAC
    - End-user tools to support RBAC administration and engineering
    Users, developers and researchers are invited to submit seven copies of
    their papers (in English and limited to 6000 words) to the Program Chair
    at the coordinates given below before the due date.  Submissions can be
    either hard copy or electronic (postscript preferred). Papers must be
    original and should not be under consideration for publication elsewhere. 
    Copyrights for accepted papers must be transferable to ACM (except for
    Government work).  Papers will be published by ACM in a proceedings to be
    distributed at the workshop and mailed to all SIGSAC members.  Outstanding
    papers will be considered for publication in ACM's new Transactions on
    Information and Systems Security (TISSEC). 
    Proposals for panels and group discussions should be sent, preferably by
    email, to the Panels Chair at dferraioloat_private 
    Paper Submissions should be sent to:
    Sylvia Osborn, Program Committee Chair,
    Dept. of Computer Science,
    The University of Western Ontario,
    London, Ontario, Canada, N6A 5B7
    email: sylviaat_private
    Papers and Panel Proposals Due: May 15, 1999
    Notification of acceptance and advance program: June 30, 1999
    Deadline for final version of papers: July 31, 1999
    Workshop: October 28-29, 1999
    Ed Coyne, Science Applications International Corporation
    David Ferraiolo, National Institute of Standards and Technology
    Trent Jaeger, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
    Sylvia Osborn, The University of Western Ontario
    Ravi Sandhu, George Mason University
    Charles Youman, Blue Cross Blue Shield
    General Conference Chair: Charles Youman, Blue Cross Blue Shield
    Local Arrangements: Srinivas Ganta, CygnaCom Solutions Inc.
    Program Committee Chair: Sylvia Osborn, The University of Western Ontario
    Panels Chair: David Ferraiolo, National Institute of Standards and
    Proceedings Chair: Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University
    Publicity Chair: Trent Jaeger, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
    Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University
    Dave Ferraiolo, National Institute of Standards and Technology
    Luigi Giuri,  Fondazione Ugo Bordoni
    Trent Jaeger, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
    Carl Landwehr, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
    Emil Lupu, Imperial College
    Ravi Sandhu, George Mason University
    Richard Simon
    Roshan Thomas, TIS Labs at Network Associates
    Dan Thomsen, Secure Computing Corp.
    Dan Wallach, Rice University
    Information on registration and accommodations will be provided.
    There will be a registration fee for all participants to cover meeting
    Subscribe: mail majordomoat_private with "subscribe isn".
    Today's ISN Sponsor: Internet Security Institute [www.isi-sec.com]

    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b30 : Fri Apr 13 2001 - 13:18:00 PDT