RAID 2003

Sixth International Symposium on the Recent Advances in Intrusion Detection

September 8-10, 2003, Pittsburgh, PA, USA http://www.raid-symposium.org/raid2003

This symposium, the sixth in an annual series, brings together leading figures from academia, government, and industry to discuss state-of-the-art intrusion detection technologies and issues from the research and commercial perspectives. The RAID International Symposium series is intended to further advances in intrusion detection by promoting the exchange of ideas in a broad range of topics.

The RAID '2003 Program Committee invites submission of both technical full papers and panels from those interested in formally presenting their ideas during the symposium.

The following sorts of topics are within scope: Alert fusion, aggregation, and correlation, assessment and measurement of intrusion detection systems, intrusion detection in high-performance and real-time environments, vulnerabilities and attacks, infrastructure-scale intrusion detection, intrusion impact evaluation and response mechanisms practical and legal considerations.

For a detailed list see the complete CFP at http://www.raid-symposium.org/raid2003.

RAID submissions are peer-reviewed. Full papers will be published by Springer Verlag in its Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series (http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/index.html).

Important Dates

Deadline for full paper submission Deadline for panel submission Notification of acceptance or rejection Final full paper camera ready copy due RAID dates

March 31, 2003 April 30, 2003 May 31, 2003 June 30, 2003 September 8-10, 2003

Submissions

Papers submitted to RAID must be original contributions, not published or submitted to other conferences. Papers are limited to 20 pages, LNCS style. Each paper must include a short abstract and a list of keywords. Authors are invited to submit papers electronically in postscript or PDF, as standard MIME attachments (please do not submit Microsoft Word documents). The email should contain (in ASCII) the title of the paper, author name(s), affiliations, mailing address and topic category addressed in the paper (if appropriate).

Panel proposals must be limited to 400 words in length and be submitted electronically in ASCII (preferred) or PDF. Panel proposals must include the name(s) of the panel chair and possible panelists, with their organizational affiliations, telephone and FAX numbers, and postal and email addresses. The description should include both an outline of the format of the panel and a short rationale for the panel. The program committee will allocate one to two-hour time slots to each panel, depending on the proposed topic, the number of panelists, and the requested length. The panel chair will be informed of the slot length when notified of acceptance. Panels that include time for general discussion and questions/answers between the panelists and the attendees are preferred. All proposals must be in English. Plan to give all panels and talks in English.

To submit a paper electronically, visit http://www.raid-symposium.org/raid2003. Each submission will be acknowledged by e-mail. If acknowledgment is not received within seven days, please contact Giovanni Vigna \(\langle vigna \(\text{@cs.ucsb.edu} \rangle \) or Erland Jonsson \(\langle co.chalmers.se \rangle \).

Program Committee

General Chair: John McHugh ⟨jmchugh@cert.org⟩ (CERT, USA)

Program Co-Chair: Giovanni Vigna ⟨vigna@cs.ucsb.edu⟩ (UCSB, USA)

Program Co-Chair: Erland Jonsson (jonsson@ce.chalmers.se) (Chalmers University, Sweden)

Publication Chair: Chris Kruegel (chris@cs.ucsb.edu) (UCSB, USA)

Publicity Chair: Josh Haines (jhaines @ll.mit.edu) (MIT Lincoln Laboratory, USA)

Sponsor Chair: Don McGillen (mcgillen @cmu.edu) (CMU, USA)

Technical Committee

Marc Dacier (Eurecom, France)
Herve Debar (France Telecom R&D, France)
Joshua Haines (MIT Lincoln Laboratory, USA)
Dick Kemmerer (UCSB, USA)
Calvin Ko (NAI, USA)
Chris Kruegel (UCSB, USA)
Wenke Lee (Georgia Tech, USA)

Ulf Lindqvist (SRI, USA) Roy Maxion (CMU, USA) Ludovic Me (Supélec, France) Vern Paxson (ACIRI/LBNL, USA) Phil Porras (SRI, USA) Marcus Ranum (Ranum, Inc., USA) Rama Sekar (SUNYSB, USA)

Stuart Staniford (Silicon Defense, USA) Kymie Tan (Melbourne University, Australia) Al Valdes (SRI, USA) Andreas Wespi (IBM Research, Switzerland) Felix Wu (UCDavis, USA) Diego Zamboni (IBM Research, Switzerland)