[ISN] Security certification choices

From: InfoSec News (isnat_private)
Date: Wed Jul 03 2002 - 04:38:45 PDT

  • Next message: InfoSec News: "[ISN] Just a few more things..."

    By Amy Schurr 
    Network World Careers Newsletter, 06/26/02 
    Numerous studies point to security as being a hot technology. If 
    you're interested in honing or validating your security skills, there 
    are several different certifications to take advantage of. 
    To help you zero in on a program, here's a quick overview of some of 
    the options to consider. Check out the various links to find a 
    certification that best meets your needs. 
    * Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE) Security and Cisco 
      Security Specialist 1
    Cisco added a security component to its highest certification, the 
    CCIE, which covers IP, IP routing, and specific security components. 
    Meanwhile, the Cisco Security Specialist 1 requires a Cisco Certified 
    Network Associate designation and proficiency with Cisco’s firewalls, 
    intrusion detection systems and VPNs. For more information on CCIE 
    Security, go to 
    For the specialist designation, check out 
    * (ICS)2 Certified Information Security Specialist (CISSP) and Systems 
      Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)
    (ICS)2's rigorous vendor-neutral program is known as a mark of 
    excellence in the industry. The CISSP is targeted at executives, while 
    the SSCP is appropriate for security specialists in the field. Check 
    out the complete details at http://www.isc2.org/
    * Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISAC) Certified 
      Information Systems Auditor (CISA)
    This certification is designed for IS audit, control and security 
    professionals. It generally requires a minimum of five years of 
    professional experience. Go to http://www.isaca.org/cert1.htm for the 
    * ProSoft Training's Certified Internet Webmaster (CIW) Security 
    This program recognizes those who can implement security policy, 
    identify security threats, and develop countermeasures using firewalls 
    and attack-recognition technologies. In order to qualify, you must 
    hold one of several certifications from Cisco, Microsoft or Novell and 
    pass the CIW Security Professional exam. For more details, go to 
    * SANS Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) program
    Widely respected in the field, GIAC offers nine security 
    certifications that range from entry-level skills to advanced 
    technical specialties such as intrusion detection and forensics. For 
    more information, go to http://www.giac.org/program.php 
    * The Security Certified Program (SCP)
    This includes two levels of certifications, the Security Certified 
    Network Professional (SCNP) and Security Certified Network Architect 
    (SCNA). The focus of SCNP is on defense, using technologies such as 
    firewalls, intrusion detection and VPNs. SCNA looks at trusted 
    communication and emerging security technologies like public-key 
    infrastructure, biometrics, and smart cards. For more information, go 
    to http://www.securitycertified.net/
    ISN is currently hosted by Attrition.org
    To unsubscribe email majordomoat_private with 'unsubscribe isn'
    in the BODY of the mail.

    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b30 : Wed Jul 03 2002 - 07:36:31 PDT