FC: DOJ releases public comments on MS deal: All 47 of them

From: Declan McCullagh (declanat_private)
Date: Fri Feb 15 2002 - 10:21:55 PST

  • Next message: Declan McCullagh: "FC: Replies to AOL again blocks Trillian instant messaging users"

    Out of over 30,000 public comments received relating to the Microsoft
    antitrust case, the Department of Justice has deemed just 47 worthy of
    serious consideration. Those 47 comments are now online.
    Previous Politech message:
     "DOJ MS comments include porn, spam, rants, little of substance"
                                  Comments on the
                       United States v. Microsoft Settlement
                     Provided to the Court on February 14, 2002
       On February 14, 2002, the Department of Justice made available to the
       U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia 47 comments received
       during the 60-day public comment period relating to the revised
       proposed Final Judgment. These comments represent the comments
       characterized as "major" in the Joint Status Report submitted to the
       Court on February 8, 2002.
       This page provides links to each of the 47 comments provided to the
       Court on February 14, 2002. The comments are listed in alphabetical
       order by the name of the person or entity submitting the comment.
         * Mark Alexander
         * The American Antitrust Institute
         * Association for Competitive Technology (ACT)
         * AOL Time Warner
         * Joseph L. Bast
         * John A. Carroll
         * Catavault
         * Center for the Moral Defense of Capitalism
         * Computer & Communications Industry Association (CCIA)
         * Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA)
         * Consumer Federation of America, et al.
         * Consumers for Computing Choice and Open Platform Working Group
         * Nicholas S. Economides
         * Einer Elhauge
         * John Giannandrea
         * Jonathan Gifford
         * Jeffrey E. Harris
         * Rebecca Henderson
         * Paul Johnson
         * KDE League, Inc.
         * Dan Kegel
         * The Honorable Herb Kohl, U.S. Senator
         * Robert E. Litan, Roger D. Noll, and William D. Nordhaus
         * Litigating States (California, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Kansas,
           Massachusetts, Minnesota, Utah, West Virginia, and the District of
         * Daniel Maddux
         * Eben Moglen
         * Ralph Nader and James Love
         * NetAction and Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
         * The New York Times
         * Novell, Inc.
         * Palm, Inc.
         * Ramon G. Pantin
         * The Progress & Freedom Foundation
         * Project to Promote Competition & Innovation in the Digital Age
         * RealNetworks, Inc.
         * Red Hat, Inc.
         * Relpromax Antitrust Inc.
         * SBC Communications Inc.
         * Software and Information Industry Association (SIIA)
         * Sony Corporation
         * Sun Microsystems, Inc.
         * The Telecommunications Research and Action Center, National Black
           Chamber of Commerce, and National Native Americans Chamber of
         * Mason Thomas
         * The Honorable John V. Tunney, former U.S. Senator
         * U.S. Senate
         * Steven Waldman
         * Washington Legal Foundation
    POLITECH -- Declan McCullagh's politics and technology mailing list
    You may redistribute this message freely if you include this notice.
    Declan McCullagh's photographs are at http://www.mccullagh.org/
    To subscribe to Politech: http://www.politechbot.com/info/subscribe.html
    This message is archived at http://www.politechbot.com/

    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b30 : Fri Feb 15 2002 - 10:26:23 PST